Book Traveling Thursday’s: New Beginnings

traveling-thursdays

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly feature meme hosted by Catia @The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @Danielle’s Book Blog! The purpose is to find book covers from around the world and choose your favourites. The list of themes is on Goodreads!

This week’s theme is new beginnings – a book you would like to read for the first time again.


There are plenty of books I could choose for this, the most obvious being my favourite books – The Study Series, Harry Potter, etc – but I’d really love to read Divergent again for the first time. Ever since seeing the films I’ve lost interest in the series (even though I love the actors – the films just aren’t right somehow) so I haven’t re-read them, or even though about them, really. The last book in the series hit me like not many books had done before – it was the first book I’d read to have that kind of ending. I’d love to be able to relive the shock and emotion I felt the first time! I read the Kindle version so I don’t actually own any covers, but here are my choices.

Original/UK

8306857

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Favourites

18928661830685713335038

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All of these are UK and American covers. I love the original (middle) because o the skyline and the weird futuristic looking fire, and I love the left one for it’s simplicity – and the way it matches the others in the series. I really like the one on the right because it’s purple, which is my favourite colour, so honestly, it’s a no-brainer.

Least Favourites

18085525 19539657 16136701

Again, the first two are English/American versions. I tend to dislike movie covers, but I especially don’t like the first one with just Tris on it – it’s too dark and it really doesn’t give any kind of indication of what the book is about. The blue one on the right is the French cover, and honestly, I like the whole head-inside-the-ring thing, but who is that girl?! And why is everything so dark?!

This is my choice for the week, and feel free to link me to your own Book Traveling Thursday’s! 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday’s: New Beginnings

    1. I agree with the original cover! I would advise you to stay away from the films, at least until you’ve read the books. I thought the last book was actually quite original, and I enjoyed it a lot. The films just felt fake and awkward :/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

