Mini Reviews: A Darker Shade of Magic, Anna Dressed In Blood & The Grownup

halloween mini review.jpg

Along with a lot of other people, I took part in a Halloween readathon this past month. I read the last three books quite quickly, and didn’t stop to write notes or reviews in between. It’s all a little jumbled in my head now so I’m going to write them as mini reviews – I hope that makes it easier!

 

 

23403402A Darker Shade of Magic is a book I’ve been wanting to read for a long, long time now, and I finally had the push I needed to pick it up! The first half of the book didn’t really capture my attention, not especially – but the second half I loved! I didn’t like the characters at first, but I felt they really grew into themselves and now the one I disliked the most – Lila – I can’t wait to read what happens to her in the next book. I’m excited for her. I was sat somewhere between 3.5 stars and 4. I always round up, so I gave it 4 on Goodreads. However, ever since I finished the book, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about the world and the characters – and for that reason, I’m keeping it at a steady 4! 🙂

★★★★☆

9378297Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy this one as much as everyone else seemed to. People rave about this book, and I was really excited to start it – especially with it being Halloween – but it fell through for me. I found it slightly cringey, not to mention the insta-love that I just didn’t get. There’s a line about “I finally found a girl I could properly be with” – yet she’s dead?! How can you properly be with her?! Anna was my favourite character, though. The others were just… annoying. Their personalities didn’t seem too stable. I did really enjoy the last 50 pages or so, and the descriptive deaths were great. The originality of this book in the YA scene is great – although there are so many films and TV shows just like this.

★★★☆☆

26847374The Grownup is a book I read because of Heather’s Halloween Book Recs Post. It’s only £1.99 for the paperback on Amazon, so I literally ordered it straight away! I’ve never read Gillian Flynn before, nor seen her films, but I’ve heard the generics – sex, strong female, etc. I loved the authenticity of the main character and how honest she was with herself. She knew she was a con, and she was perfectly okay with it. She lived an interesting life. I like this short story because you really don’t know what’s happening – is it supernatural, is it just psychological? Who did what? Who is telling the truth? I loved the entire idea. I just wish the ending would have been less confusing – but I guess that defeats the point!

★★★☆☆

My Halloween readathon wrap-up post should be up within the next few days! Did you read anything for Halloween? Have you read these? 🙂 

georgie

One thought on “Mini Reviews: A Darker Shade of Magic, Anna Dressed In Blood & The Grownup

Leave a Reply

