Book Traveling Thursday’s: Spooky Reads

traveling-thursdays

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly feature meme hosted by Catia @The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @Danielle’s Book Blog! The purpose is to find book covers from around the world and choose your favourites. The list of themes is on Goodreads!

This week’s theme is spooky reads – because it’s almost Halloween!

 

 

Everything these last few weeks seems to be Halloween related, so I’m trying not to use the same books over and over. For today, I’m choosing a book I haven’t read yet, but seems to be super popular – Asylum by Madeleine Roux.

Original/UK Cover

13597728

This is the original cover, which was published in American, the UK and probably a bunch of other places. It’s not my favourite, mostly because I don’t like the font used – it seems kind of childish? I like the girl, though, and how you can’t see her face, and the border surrounding the book.

                                                                                               Favourite

21532949

This one is the Spanish cover. It’s pretty much the same as the original, except it has a green tint to it, with the font standing out more. I think the green just gives it that extra boost of creepy that it needs, and I imagine it to look really good in real life!

Least Favourite

26175286

The Chinese cover, undoubetdley. I haven’t read the book so I can’t say if the cover really relates to the story at all – besides the asylum part – but I don’t like how empty it looks, how it doesn’t really look like a YA book and that the title is written so far to to the right. Maybe that’s just how books are in China, I don’t know, but I wouldn’t pick it up here!

                                                                                        Other Covers

2816774422702479

Here we have the Indonesian (left) and Dutch (right) titles. I quite like both of them, especially the Dutch, but they don’t look like YA books at all. If I was a big horror fan I could see myself going for the Indonesian cover, though.

4 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday’s: Spooky Reads

Leave a Reply

