Mini Review: The King of Rats

31303411 Title: The King of Rats (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #0.5)

Author: Melinda Salisbury

Page count: 48 pages

Released: July 29th, 2016

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Type: eBook

Rating: ★★★✰✰

what-i-liked

✔ The idea of this story had me intrigued; a rat infestation causing trouble among royals. Were they going to be strange, magical rats? Was it going to be funny? Were they going to kill people? I liked the premise of this a lot.

✔ The fact it’s only available on the Waterstones website, as a downloadable PDF file – so no cost!

✔ Despite being so short, I felt I understood the character’s personalities well.

✔ Aurelia was my favourite character. She was intelligent and loved, yet still looked down on by her family. She was basically the Lisa Simpson of this novella.

✔ This story literally had zero relevance to the other books in the series. Not in the way of the land, the characters, or literally anything else. It’s been a while since I read The Sin Eater’s Daughter, but I didn’t get confused at all. You don’t even have to have read that book.

what i disliked.jpg

✘ I also didn’t like the fact it didn’t relate to the other books. It didn’t feel like I was reading something from that world, and I don’t really understand why it counts towards the series. It was just a short story.

✘ Every character other than Aurelia, especially her brother and father. Her brother has serious creepy manipulative vibes, and her father wanted to marry himself off to a young girl, the same age as his son? Sorry, but that’s weird.

✘ Third person POV books are never usually my favourite, but this switched back and forth between characters so quickly that it completely confused me. I didn’t always know who I was actually reading about.

★★★✰✰

One thought on “Mini Review: The King of Rats

Leave a Reply

