Book Review: The Harry Potter Novellas

31538635 Title: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies

Author: J.K Rowling

Published: September 6th, 2016

Pages: 68 pages

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I read these books in the complete wrong order (although it makes no difference), but this was my last and my favourite!

This book includes, essentially, three short biographies and then a section on the person’s special ability. It tells us about Minerva McGonagall from her birth until the Battle of Hogwarts, then explains Animagus’. We then get to read about Remus Lupin, with the following section being – yep – werewolves. The last biography is that of Sybill Trelawney and Seer’s, and while her section was considerably shorter than the others, I was still satisfied with the information.

I learnt more about McGonagall and Remus than I ever really thought I would! I love and understand the characters more because of this little novella. Every character needs a backstory and I’m so glad we get to know theirs.

31539950 Title: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists

Author: J.K Rowling

Published: 6th September, 2016

Pages: 63 pages

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

This is the first book out of the 3 novellas that I read. I wasn’t sure what they were going to be like, but I enjoyed it!

Talking as if the Harry Potter world is real (which it is), this would be considered a non-fiction book. It includes information on a select few characters who in some way or another were in a position of power – such as Professor Umbridge, Horace Slughorn, Peeves the Poltergeist and Professor Quirrel. It also talks about Hogwarts, Azkaban, and has a really in-depth list of every Minister for Magic ever! (Besides Hermione, which I was upset about)

Although you don’t need to read this, and it barley mentions any of the main characters, it was a nice insight into the backstory of those characters and was certainly interesting to read!

31538647 Title: Hogwarts: An Incomplete & Unreliable Guide

Author: J.K Rowling

Published: 6th September, 2016

Pages: 79 pages

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I enjoyed this one more than the Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists one, so it’s my favourite so far!

Hogwarts is one of my favourite things about the whole wizarding world, so reading so much about it gave me a great nostalgic feeling. This novella focused more on objects and places, opposed to the people in #2. It included things like Time-Turner’s, Penseive’s, The Marauder’s Map, Platform 9 and 3/4, and plenty more. It also featured ghosts, the Chamber of Secrets, and spoke more about the characters we know (Harry, Dumbledore, Hermione etc). J.K Rowling’s notes after each chapter were especially nice to read – I loved hearing how she came up with ideas and what she thinks of them now!

One thought on “Book Review: The Harry Potter Novellas

Leave a Reply

