Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

T29056083itle: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Author: J.K Rowling

Page count: 330 pages

Released: July 31st, 2016

Genre: Children’s, Fantasy

Type: Hardback

Rating: 5 stars

The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.”

my thoughts...

Anybody who knows me knows there are few things I love more than Harry Potter. Just like this book, I have two parts to say!

Spoiler Free Review: 
Going into this book I was a tad skeptical – I hadn’t heard anybody else’s opinions, although I’ve now seen that not everybody was happy with it. I was worried it wouldn’t live up to the other books, or that I wouldn’t like it written in script form, or that I wouldn’t like the newly introduced characters – who are, by the way, Scorpius Malfoy, Lily Potter, James Potter, Rose Granger-Weasley and Hugo Granger-Weasley. The book is written mostly around Albus and Scorpius, though there’s still some action from the old characters we know – Harry, Ron and Hermione, and a ton more who I’ll write in the spoiler review. It still had the typical, over genuine and slightly childish writing that the first Harry Potter books had. Forget what people are saying about it being disappointing, I was 100% invested in this book. It felt so good to be back in the Harry Potter world with those characters and I thought I was okay with the idea of not having another Harry Potter book, but apparently I’m not. 😦

Spoiler-induced review:
Oh my God. Oh my Dumbledore? I loved every second of this. Albus has so many character traits from Harry, and the further the book went the more of Harry I could see in him. At first I thought Scorpius was weird, and entirely not as I expected – nothing like Draco. But I grew to love him too, and the pair of them just show that houses really don’t matter. Which is good, because my brother is a Slytherin.
It felt nice to step into the world of Harry Potter, and maybe it’s because I marathon’d three of the films last night, but it was all fresh in my mind. Harry Potter is still a huge part of my life, and I’m so glad I remembered as much as I did. Even in this play/script/book, J.K Rowling still has so many intricate plot twists and details and I’m still not sure how she does it. There were some things I guessed, but when aren’t there?
My favourite thing was not only seeing the trio (and Ginny and Draco) again, but also seeing all of the other characters – especially the dead ones. Seeing Snape again made my day. I was even happy to see Professor Umbridge.

I read this really quickly, in just a few hours – partly because it’s written as a script, partly because it’s Harry Potter and I couldn’t help myself. If you’ve read the other books, definitely read this!

georgie

2 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

