Volunteering At a Library – What It’s Like

Each year, libraries in England host a summer reading challenge for children and young people up to the age of 18. And each year they recruit volunteers to help out. Last year I skipped over it because I was looking for a job instead, but this year I thought why not!

download

I always wondered what it would be like to work in a library – do you get to sit and read all day? Do people come in, excitedly telling you about all their favourite books? Imagine spending your working life surrounded by the smell of books. It sounds wonderful.

It turns out, even in the smallest, slowest of libraries, employees unfortunately don’t get to sit around all day and read with a cup of tea. However, since I’m a volunteer, I get to do exactly that! 😀 When there are no children around, nobody to sign up or – yes – listen to them animatedly explain to me the storyline of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory,  not realising I read it 11 years ago at school, or read some jokes from the Angry Birds x Star Wars joke book, I get to sit at my own little table surrounded by bookmarks and sign up sheets, and read all day long. 

I had my first official day this week, and I read more that day than I have all week! I’m hoping that this will encourage me to somehow catch up on my Goodreads reading challenge!

Have you ever worked/volunteered at a library? Have you ever wanted to? 🙂

Leave a Reply

