Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature meme hosted at The Broke and Bookish.

This week’s theme is 10 Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed. 

I feel like this happens for a lot of books I read. It’s actually the main reason I started buying/downloading more eBooks instead of physical copies – I’d read it once, and in a few months, I’d changed my mind. I was probably never going to read it again, and it’s most likely in the hidden corner of my bookcase. I also find it almost cringey reading books that I read several years ago, like when you read old Facebook statuses or look at old pictures. Some books obviously stick through, but there are quite a lot that I look at and think “what were you doing reading that?!”. So, in no order…

63396641. Hush, Hush (series) by Becca Fitzpatrick.

I used to adore this series. Even now, I remember so much about it. But when I do think about it, I start to wonder how I ever enjoyed it. The only redeeming quality about is the fact it’s the first of it’s kind that I read.

2. A Thousand Nights by E.K Johnston25337864

When I first read this as an ARC, I enjoyed it but I wasn’t sold completely. Really, I think it just took a little while to sink in, and now I love this book. A lot of people seem to hate the lack of dialogue, the fact there are no names – but I love that about this book. It makes it different! Plus, there’s also the gorgeous pink hardback to take into account. Nobody can turn down that cover. (Not this one –>)

12578077

 3. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I never know what to think of this book. When I first read it I loved it – it was, surprisingly, one of the first alien books I’d ever read. Surprising because I now love them! But as the series went on, the characters and plot got tackier, and it’s become one of those books that I’m almost embarrassed to talk about.  I’m just not sure.

4. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.11408650

I enjoyed this book, and I think I gave it 4 stars. It was incredibly descriptive and original, and I liked the characters a lot. But now I feel completely indifferet to it. I’ve forgotten most of the plot, and I can’t say I’ll ever feel like reading it again. It’s just one of those books.

260473105. Rebel of the Sands by Alywn Hamilton

The day that I read the synoposis for this book, I fell in love. I immediately ordered it into my local bookstore and was crazy excited when I got it. I loved it all the way through, and it did live up to my expectations. But after I finished it, I almost forgot about it. I put the next book on my TBR and that was it. But now, whenever I think of my most recent favourite books, this comes into my head. Whenever I look for a new book, I look for ones similar to this. And it’s definitely, definitely made it onto my list of favourites. 🙂

6, 7, 8, 9 & 10:

31578772061811077353338723336274251

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

  1. Wow, I hadn’t heard about A Thousand Nights, although I’ve seen the cover around. How does that even work with no names? Are there descriptions of the characters? Is the narrator 1st or 3rd person? Sounds interesting!
    And you’re right, seeing books that don’t match your reading style anymore is sort of embarrassing hahaha but it shouldn’t! We grow 🙂
    You can see my post if you like.

    Like

    1. If I remember correctly it’s 1st person but I could be wrong, I read it last summer! There are very few characters which is why I didn’t find the no names thing too intimidating. And when there are more characters, they’re usually just described as what they are, like “my uncle” or “my uncle’s children” etc. I’m replying to this very late but I’ll have a look at your post now! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hush, Hush is on my TTT as well and for much of the same reason, though I’ve only read the first book.

    I’ve also read A Thousand Nights and would agree with you about not being sold… I think it just feels very literary to me, and it’s probably not the best book for a YA audience after the hype for The Wrath and the Dawn, which is based on a similar tale.

    Like

    1. I haven’t read The Wrath and the Dawn yet, but I really want to! Everyone compares it to A Thousand Nights and says it’s better, and since I enjoyed that one I bet I’d love The Wrath and the Dawn 🙂

      Like

    1. It’s a real shame when you used to like a book so much, and now you can’t think of anything worse than re-reading it. Jennifer re-wrote Lux from Daemon’s POV and I just really can’t bear to go near it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I read Mara Dyer forever ago and I loved it so much, but then I never finished the series and I heard people have absolutely hated the last book so now I’m super hesitant. Rebel of the Sands is one of my current reads and I’m enjoying it so far!

    Like

Leave a Reply

